And then a day where everything goes right

First thing this morning I got the report that Tina had slept extremely well last night.   Awesome.   Then I pack up for my 58.3 mile cycle trip up to Ridgecrest, CA from Mojave.   I get a late start (8:25am) but, miraculously, there is almost no wind and four hours of peddling later I am at the hotel in Ridgecrest.   By late afternoon there are horrific winds over the route I'd just taken -- stronger than anything I've seen out here and ones that would stopped me in my tracks.  

On the way I met another cycle tourist, a fellow named Marcus who had a very nice classic touring rig who said he'd already crossed the country 3 times (in various ways) in prior adventures.   This was after noon already and he was preparing to knock out another 70 miles to get up to Lone Pine.   Yeesh.  Great to meet a fellow cyclist, tho.

Also on the way I notice and stop in at the funky "Jawbone Canyon Store" and pass by a big "Jawbone Canyon Recreation Area".   At the hotel I look up Tina's position with GeoPro and see that she is either going to cross "Jawbone Canyon Road" late today or early tomorrow.   I knew it was a dirt road and so quickly I call the relevant BLM ranger and ask whether the road is open and could be traversed by conventional 2wd vehicles.   Yes it can.

Quickly I scan for local car rentals finding two at the nearby InyoKern Airport.   The cheapest is Dollar.   I call them and start haggling on price.  In that conversation I find out that the guy is physically less than one block from my current location (just outside the entrance to the naval base here) and will cut the price even more to rent direct from there.   I go.  I get the car.   I throw in the GPS, computer, etc.   I head out and pick up a bunch of water on the way.  

At the Jawbone Canyon Road turnoff (an hour away by car) I finally raise Tina on GeoPro and verify that she can make it to the road crossing.   As it turns out the road is just *barely* navigable by 2wd vehicle but two hours later and with GeoPro relay assistance from my Dad I have Tina in the car and we're headed back.   We get back, Denny's meal is consumed, and tomorrow is planned to be a Nero with me re-launching her in the early afternoon.

Sweet!

/David

6 responses
Glad to see all is wel, for at least that day. Was there in 1990 for some Navy Testing....it averaged 109 degrees for the period....Glad you are not there when it's similar.

Be safe

PS...did you get the boots?
Yep, this place definitely has the potential for some temps and seems to be trying to work something up yet today -- it's just 60ish miles south of one of the main entrances to Death Valley and is only a couple thousand feet higher. Lots of fun combat jets to see flying around, tho.

No boots. I think we're headed towards trail runners + Kahtoola KTS aluminum crampons + gaitors + ice axe.

Hello Mr. David! and Tina for whom we've not met.
made it to Bishop, yet am back in Lone Pine.
The pass i wanted to take, 120 is still closed due to snow, oh-well.
L.P. hostel here is 25 dollars the Lady Tania is very nice. my first shower in who knows when. Have seen another bicyclist, approximately late 30's, towing a trailer, heading north in Big Pine (thought it was you, nope).
and so i'm wondering how you get/got to Monterrey ?
I will be going through Walker Pass likely tomorrow.
Safe riding and hiking for everybody : o !
Hi, Marcus. I got a really good deal on a week-long car rental here in Ridgecrest and so that's how we're getting to Monterey. My plan was to be at Walker Pass tomorrow too with the bike but its front hub is actually in the machine shop right now and so I will probably be there with the car in the early afternoon. If you need a ride or anything just write to me at my email address (see the contact page here). Hope the rest of your trip goes well.
hey that's interesting!
my tire just blew out by "Indian Wells brewery" got a lift into Ridgecrest.
Tires fixed; now i'm getting set to hitch hike ala walk back out.