Wheeling around

Matters o' the Bike: While the front brake rotor no longer rubs on the fork stanchion it has remained too close for comfort and I've noticed that when I stand in the saddle under full load that I've been getting some metal-on-metal contact between the rotor and caliper housing.   On my last ride I decided it's time to stop chasing my tail on this and get serious.   After some consultation with Alex Nutt of MTB Tandems and Bob of "Bob & Ardyce's Bicycle Shop" here locally I decided to try machining off about 1/16" of the rotor mounting face on the front hub and to have the axle's bearing retainer turned down to match.    That required the wheel be completely torn down and several trips today back and forth between the bike and machine shops but, theoretically, after the wheel gets rebuilt tomorrow everything should be grand.  Again.  Sigh .. ;-)

Matters o' the Hike:  After little sleep last night (too hot for the bag, too cold to not have any cover), the "get going super early" plan didn't work out.   Nevertheless Tina knocked out 20 miles and rests tonight at a nice level soft sand site up at 6500' -- much cooler and with a strong breeze too.    She's got a fairly short hike tomorrow out to the pass.   If by some miracle the bike is back together early I'll fetch her with that else I'll be in the car.

So endeth the report for the day, David :-)